What Are Examples Of Religious Jewelry Symbols?

What are key religious symbols? Symbolism is an important part of religion. Many different symbols can be used to represent a given faith or concept within that religion. 

Religious jewelry symbols

Religious jewelry symbols hold profound significance for individuals seeking to express their faith and devotion. These symbols carry rich historical and cultural meanings, often representing the core beliefs, rituals, and traditions of various religions. From the cross in Christianity to the Om symbol in Hinduism, religious symbol jewelry serves as a tangible and wearable reminder of one's spiritual journey. Some examples are:

  • Christianity - Christian cross
  • Judaism - Star of David
  • Islam - Star and crescent
  • Hinduism - Om (or Swastika)
  • Buddhism - Wheel of Dharma
  • Taoism- Yin and Yang
  • Ancient Egyptian Religion - Ankh


Cross (Christianity):Christianity - Christian cross Symbol

The cross is perhaps the most widely recognized religious symbol in the world. It represents the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and the central message of Christianity – the sacrificial love and redemption through Christ's death and resurrection. Cross pendants, necklaces, and bracelets are popular forms of Christian jewelry, reminding believers of their faith and serving as a symbol of hope, forgiveness, and eternal life.


Judaism - Star of David SymbolStar of David (Judaism):

The Star of David, also known as the Magen David, is a prominent symbol in Judaism. It consists of two interlocking equilateral triangles, forming a six-pointed star. The Star of David represents the connection between God and humanity, as well as the unity of the Jewish people. Jewish jewelry often incorporates this symbol, serving as a reminder of Jewish identity, heritage, and the covenant between God and Israel.



Crescent Moon and Star (Islam):Islam - Star and crescent Symbol

The crescent moon and star symbol is closely associated with Islam and is commonly seen in Islamic jewelry. Although not officially recognized as a symbol in the Quran, the crescent moon and star have been embraced by Muslim cultures throughout history. It is often interpreted as a representation of the lunar calendar, with the crescent symbolizing the new moon and the star symbolizing divine guidance and enlightenment.


Hinduism - Om (or Swastika) SymbolOm (Hinduism):

The Om symbol is of great significance in Hinduism, representing the primordial sound and the essence of the ultimate reality. It encompasses the concepts of creation, preservation, and destruction, as well as the unity of the individual self (Atman) with the cosmic consciousness (Brahman). Om pendants and rings are popular forms of Hindu religious jewelry, worn as a reminder of spiritual connection, meditation, and the pursuit of enlightenment.


Dharma Wheel (Buddhism):Buddhism - Wheel of Dharma Symbol

The Dharma Wheel, also known as the Dharmachakra, is a symbol widely associated with Buddhism. It consists of eight spokes, representing the Noble Eightfold Path – the teachings of Buddha that lead to the cessation of suffering and the attainment of enlightenment. The Dharma Wheel symbolizes the eternal nature of the teachings and the continuous cycle of birth, death, and rebirth. Buddhist jewelry often incorporates the Dharma Wheel as a reminder of the path towards liberation and awakening.


Ancient Egyptian Religion - Ankh SymbolAnkh (Ancient Egyptian Religion):

The Ankh is an ancient Egyptian symbol that represents life and immortality. It resembles a cross with a loop at the top and is often depicted in the hands of deities in ancient Egyptian artwork. The Ankh is associated with the divine power of the gods and the promise of eternal life after death. Today, the Ankh is occasionally used in jewelry, serving as a connection to ancient Egyptian spirituality and symbolism.


Yin and Yang (Taoism):Taoism- Yin and Yang Symbol

The Yin and Yang symbol is rooted in Taoism, representing the interplay and harmony between opposing forces. The symbol consists of a circle divided into two halves – one black (Yin) and the other white (Yang) – with a small dot of the opposite color within each half. Yin symbolizes darkness, femininity, and passivity, while Yang represents light, masculinity, and activity. Together, they symbolize the balance and interconnectedness of all things. Yin and Yang jewelry serves as a reminder of the Taoist principles of balance, harmony, and the unity of opposites.



Religious jewelry symbols are not merely decorative; they carry deep spiritual meaning and serve as expressions of faith, devotion, and cultural identity. Whether it's the cross for Christians, the Star of David for Jews, or the Om symbol for Hindus, these symbols connect individuals to their beliefs, traditions, and the collective history of their respective religions.

By wearing religious jewelry, believers can carry a tangible reminder of their spiritual journey, finding solace, inspiration, and a sense of connection to something greater than themselves.